Dr. Michael R. Gregg, a member of the Senior Executive Service, is the Director, Aerospace Systems Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. In this capacity, he leads the Air Force science and technology programs in hypersonic and high-speed systems, autonomy, power and control systems, space access rocket propulsion, in-space propulsion, turbine engines and vehicles for advanced, next-generation space, missile and aircraft applications. The Aerospace Systems Directorate consists of a workforce of more than 1,900 military members, civilians and contractors executing an annual budget in excess of $700 million with $4 billion in research facilities spread over 65 square miles at Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio; Edwards AFB, California; and Arnold Engineering Development Complex, Tennessee.

Dr. Gregg was commissioned in the Air Force through the Officer Training School in 1988. Over his Air Force career, Dr. Gregg served in a variety of technical management, program management, staff and leadership positions. He had assignments that covered the entire system lifecycle. These assignments included basic research in solid state physics and lasers, missile defense advanced concept development, C-17 aircraft development and production, Military Satellite Communications and Space-Based Infrared System space system development and production, and C-5 and C-17 aircraft sustainment and modifications. Dr. Gregg retired from the Air Force in 2013 in the rank of Colonel after 24 years of active duty. He was appointed to the Senior Executive Service in 2019.

1987 Bachelor of Arts Physics, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, N.C.
1996 Doctor of Philosophy, Engineering Physics, Air Force Institute of Technology, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio
2009 Master of Science, National Resource Strategy, Industrial College of the Armed Forces, Fort Lesley J. McNair, Washington, D.C.

1. June 1988–April 1991, Physicist, Rome Air Development Center, Hanscom Air Force Base, Mass.
2. April 1991–May 1996, Student, Air Force Institute of Technology, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
3. May 1996–May 1999, Chief, Semiconductor Laser Branch and Executive Officer, Directed Energy Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Kirtland AFB, N.M.
4. May 1999–July 2002, Associate Director, Directed Energy Programs and Airborne Laser Program Support Officer, Missile Defense Agency, the Pentagon, Arlington, Va.
5. June 2003–August 2006, Chief, C-17 Site Activation Branch and Chief, C-17 Business and Integration Division, Aeronautical Systems Center, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
6. August 2006–July 2008, Commander, Military Satellite Communications Command and Control Squadron, and Chief, Systems Engineering, Integration and Test, Space Based Infrared Systems, Space and Missile Systems Center, Los Angeles AFB, Calif.
7. June 2009–January 2013, Commander, 730th Aircraft Sustainment Group and System Program Manager, C-5 Galaxy Division, Robins AFB, Ga.
8. February 2013–August 2019, Senior Associate, Dayton Aerospace Inc., Beavercreek, Ohio
9. September 2019–present, Director, Aerospace Systems Directorate, AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

Meritorious Civilian Service Award
Legion of Merit

Program Management, Level III
Systems Planning, Research, Development and Engineering, Level III Test and Evaluation Level I

(Current as of August 2023)