The Medal of Honor

Air Force Medal of Honor

The Medal of Honor is the highest award for heroism in military action that the Nation can bestow on a member of its Armed Forces. The first Medal of Honor received by an airman was awarded to Captain Edward V. Rickenbacker for aerial combat in 1918.

The Air Force-designed Medal of Honor was created on April 14, 1965. President Lyndon B. Johnson first presented this medal on January 19, 1967, to Major Bernard F. Fisher for action in South Vietnam.

Members of the Air Force and its predecessor organizations have earned four Medals of Honor in World War I, 38 in World War II, 4 in the Korean Conflict and 14 in the Vietnam War. Two more were presented by special acts of Congress.

The Medal of Honor is awarded for conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty.