Registration open now for virtual AETC Leadership Mentoring Symposium Jan. 27-28

  • Published
  • By Air Education and Training Command Public Affairs

As part of service-wide focus on mentorship, Air Education and Training Command will virtually host a Leadership Mentoring Symposium Jan. 27-28.

The two-day event is being hosted by the AETC Mentoring Council, which is composed of Airmen from around the command, and will allow senior leaders to mentor a virtual audience on specific topics.

“Headquarters, Air Force A1 has determined that January is the month of mentoring,” said Quency L. Henson, AETC’s Mentoring Council lead. “This symposium is for civilians, enlisted and officers in AETC, regardless of location, and we couldn’t be more excited to share the wisdom and experience of this great lineup of speakers with the entire command.”

Sessions on both days will run from 8 a.m. to noon Central Standard Time using ZoomGov. There will be a question and answer period after each speaker presents.  

Agenda (tentative; subject to change):

Wednesday, Jan. 27

8 a.m.    

Symposium Launch

AETC Mentoring Council

8:10 a.m.  

The Importance of Mentorship    

Col. Paul Swenson, AETC/A1

9 a.m.     


SES Mr. George Gagnon, AETC International Affairs

10 a.m.


Col. Seth Graham, 14th Flying Training Wing commander

11 a.m. 


Col. Heather Blackwell, 81st Training Wing commander

Thursday, Jan. 28

8 a.m.    


Maj. Gen. William Spangenthal, AETC deputy commander

8:10 a.m.  

Critical Thinking

Col. John Lofton, 82nd Training Group commander

9 a.m.

Motivating Employees

Col. Matthew Leard, 97th Air Mobility Wing commander

10 a.m.

Professional Development

Col. Eries L.G. Mentzer, 42nd Air Base Wing commander

11 a.m.


Col. Tim Danielson, 71st Flying Training Wing commander

11:50 a.m.


Lt. Gen. Brad Webb, AETC commander


Certificates will be provided for audience participants.

To register for the event and get the ZoomGov. link, send email to Registration is on a first-come, first-served basis and seats are limited to 350 people.