Air Force selects 16 weather squadron commander candidates

  • Published
  • By Debbie Gildea
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
The 15W Weather Officer Squadron Commander Candidate Selection Board held here July 23-24 selected 16 weather officers as candidates for nine projected calendar year 2015 weather squadron command vacancies, Air Force Personnel Center officials announced Sept. 10.

Command selections are expected to be announced in mid-November, according to AFPC weather assignment officer Maj. Jimmy Odom.

"Candidates who are not matched to a squadron command remain eligible throughout the calendar year for other squadron command opportunities, such as 365-day extended deployment squadron command, Air Education and Training Command recruiting and training squadron command and Reserve Officer Training Corps detachment command," Odom said.

The command candidate process is very competitive, the major said.

"The selection panel carefully reviewed every eligible officer's records and duty history and considered demonstrated leadership ability and professional development to ensure the most qualified candidates are available for command," he explained.

Weather squadron command candidates include Lieutenant Colonels Deborah Danyluk, Jack Evans, Hugh Freestrom, Barry Hunte, Jason King and Jody Zolman; Lieutenant Colonel-selects Barbara Costa, Joseph Coughlin, Bradley Harbaugh, Troy Kirk, Breea Lisko, Earl Nast, Steven Randle, Cedrick Stubblefield and Jason Wild; and Maj. Andrew M. Frey Jr.

For more information about weather command and other opportunities, go to the myPers website. Enter article number 13749 in the search window and select the 15XX weather link.