HomeNewsArticle Display

2014 Nuclear Deterrence, Missile Operations award winners announced

WASHINGTON (AFNS) -- Air Force officials recently named the winners of the 2014 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award and the Nuclear and Missile Operations Award.

The Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of Airmen contributing to nuclear deterrence operations. The Nuclear and Missile Operations Award is presented annually to honor officers within the nuclear and missile operations career field who made the most significant contribution to nuclear and missile operations in the previous calendar year.

These outstanding nuclear professionals were selected from a diverse field within the Air Force’s major commands, unified combatant commands and other agencies including the Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard.

Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award winners are:
- Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Francesca E. Jackson, 91st Missile Security Forces Squadron, 91st
Missile Wing, Minot Air Force Base, North Dakota

- NCO of the Year: Staff Sgt. Dustin P. Taylor, 31st Security Forces Squadron, 31st Fighter Wing, Aviano Air Base, Italy

- Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Joseph A. Anderson, 791st MSFS, 91st MW, Minot AFB, North Dakota

- Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Michael H. Hillier, 39th Maintenance Squadron, 39th AB, Incirlik, Turkey

- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Erik J. Schmid, 31st Munitions Squadron, 31st FW, Aviano AB, Italy

- Category I Civilian of the Year: Shannon M. Clugston, Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center, Kirtland AFB, New Mexico

- Category II Civilian of the Year: Chad A. Smith, 5th SFS, 5th Bomb Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota

- Category III Civilian of the Year: Jeffrey K. Bell, Headquarters Air Force Global Strike Command, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana

- Professional Team: Air Force Global Strike Command Force Improvement Program team (Lt. Col. Russell S. Williford; Majs. Raymond J. Fortner, Kenneth W. Horton, Gregory M. Watson, Daniel W. Wasserman, Raymundo M. Vann, Jr., Andrew F. Brown III; Capts. Frank G. Scopa, Gerald M. Underwood, Jr., Derek J. Williams; 1st Lt. Michael A. Ford; 2nd Lt. Phillip R. Jenkins; Elizabeth M. Jones, Carolyn J. Forester, David A. Davies; and Chief Master Sgt. Scott C. Daigneault)

Nuclear and Missile Operations Award winners are:
- Operator of the Year: 1st Lt. Victoria A. Fort, 741st Missile Squadron, 91st MW, Minot AFB, North Dakota

- Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Daniel R. Moore, 576th Flight Test Squadron, Vandenberg AFB, California

- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Dustin D. Harmon, AFGSC, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana

The Nuclear Operations Awards Program is administered and overseen by Headquarters Air Force Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration Directorate in accordance with Air Force Instruction 36-2870, “Nuclear Operations Awards Program.”


Facebook Twitter
#ICYMI Yesterday, #USAF Chief of Staff @GenDaveGoldfein had the privilege of presenting the Air Force Cross to Tech… https://t.co/E1f8TBgJYn
Planning to visit the National #911PentagonMemorial? Know before you go; the memorial will close temporarily later… https://t.co/8dBsvEl1gW
RT @ActingSecAF: Op-ed | The U.S. Space Force must be independent but not insular - https://t.co/VAoFe3oXF1 https://t.co/swaIMlVVDZ
👋 Hello @CityOfDallas, #AmericasAirForce is heading your way Sept. 27. Mark your calendars and meet us there!… https://t.co/MWnoLe8aSF
RT @DeptofDefense: Can we fix it?! 👷 $106,176 is how much money the @usairforce saved, thanks to Tech. Sgt. Keith Boudreau’s innovative 3D-…
RT @WomenInAviation: USAF women pilots to provide inspiration to future female aviators https://t.co/HsQuy6RKSH #WomeninAviation #GIAD19 #F
RT @AFResearchLab: "The technologies of tomorrow will exist because of the "Basic Research" of today." Read more on how we're collaboratin…
#WatchLive today at 9:00 A.M. EDT as Barbara M. Barrett, Secretary of the Air Force nominee, testifies before Congr… https://t.co/7DsAHZSZRL
RT @PACAF: #PACAF photo of the Week! #Defenders from bases around the world converged on #Guam to drill in close quarters urban combat as…
An Oral History of 9/11 - Commander Anthony Barnes, "That first hour was mass confusion because there was so much e… https://t.co/cqmFnxB9LA
RT @ActingSecAF: We will #NeverForget the lives lost, both victims and first responders, or those Airmen who have sacrificed so much since…
RT @ActingSecAF: Thanks @JohnBoozman & @RepGaramendi for hosting an early #USAF birthday celebration & honoring the service of our #Airmen
RT @DeptofDefense: WATCH LIVE: @POTUS Donald Trump, Secretary of Defense Dr. Mark T. Esper, & Chairman @thejointstaff @USMC Gen. Joe Dunfor…
RT @AirmanMagazine: The paint job on these @48FighterWing F-15s is similar to that of the P-47 Thunderbolt, the primary aircraft used by th…
Six years ago, Lt. Col. Dan Magruder lost his friend and fellow #AirForce Veteran to suicide. Their training didn't… https://t.co/fY7sVgrriF
#ICYMI, the #F22 turned 22! Happy Birthday! https://t.co/KH4m6FnJk5
RT @Eagles: Thanks to the 177th Fighter Wing for today's amazing flyover! #AFFlyover | #FlyEaglesFly https://t.co/s7EJqi1O1l
RT @AirmanMagazine: A B-2 Spirit from @Whiteman_AFB received fuel from a KC-135 Stratotanker above the Norwegian Sea, Sept. 5, 2019. This e…