HomeNewsArticle Display

2015 nuclear operations awards winners announced

WASHINGTON (AFNS) -- Air Force officials recently announced the winners of the 2015 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award and the Nuclear and Missile Operations Award.

The awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments of the Airmen who have contributed to the nuclear deterrence operations and the officers who have made the most significant contribution to the nuclear and missile operations career field.

“The winners of the 2015 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Awards and the Nuclear and Missile Operations Awards have distinguished themselves amongst their peers while making a significant impact on nuclear deterrence operations,” said Lt. Gen. Jack Weinstein, the deputy chief of staff for strategic deterrence and nuclear integration. “We are pleased to highlight their achievements. Congratulations to the winners as well as those who were nominated.”

The 2015 winners are:

Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award:

- Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Robert J. Gilsbach, 741st Maintenance Squadron, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom Air Force Base, Montana
- NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Christopher M. Coleman, 532nd Training Squadron, 381st Training Group, Vandenberg AFB, California
- Senior NCO of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Michael J. Naquin, Air Force Global Strike Command, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana
- Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Michael B. Hampton, 31st Munitions Squadron, 31st Fighter Wing, Aviano AB, Italy
- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Robert M. Kochan, 31st MUNS
- Category I Civilian of the Year: JoNell M. Lutes, 91st Operations Support Squadron, 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota
- Category II Civilian of the Year: Stephen D. Christensen, Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center, Minot AFB
- Category III Civilian of the Year: William A. Hodgson, Air Force Inspection Agency, Kirtland AFB, New Mexico
- Professional Team: United States Strategic Command ICBM Dynamic Targeting Team (Lt. Cols. David A. McMillan and Kary R. Schramm; Majs. Matthew T. Farrer, Daniel W. Shimonsky, Jeremy L. Haas, Benjamin D. Zatorski, Charles M. Whitworth, Eric S. Buss, Matthew D. Hargis; Capts. Lucas P. Lobo, Richard H. Morrison, Matthew E. Youmans, Adam N. Sheyko, Kenneth M. Jenkins II, Frank A. Timothy, Melissa D. Urbansky; Master Sgt. Jason G. Catchings; and Clay W. Dickinson, Doug T. Jackson, Frank W. Gorhau, Jr., Joshua K. Hoenshell, John N. Pruett, Jayson S. Lucas, and Gregory S. Taylor)

Nuclear and Missile Operations Award:

- Operator of the Year: Capt. Ian M. Sylvester, 10th Missile Squadron, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB
- Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Carli E. Frasier, 90th Operations Group, 90th MW, F.E. Warren AFB, Wyoming
- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Lt. Col. Terrance J. Holmes, Headquarter Air Force Strategic Plans and Requirements, Pentagon, Washington, D.C.

These nuclear professionals were selected from a diverse field within the Air Force’s major commands, unified combatant commands, and other agencies including the Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard.

The Nuclear Operations Awards program is administered and overseen by deputy chief of staff for strategic deterrence and nuclear integration, Headquarters Air Force in accordance with Air Force Instruction 36-2870, “Nuclear Operations Awards Program.”


Facebook Twitter
The #B52 Wise Guy, a cold warrior that stood sentinel over America from the darkest days of the Cold War to the glo… https://t.co/yxSgZpsBKY
Have a bright idea for ways to #FuelMoreFight? @AFEnergy's looking for you. https://t.co/nbHISOo0KP
Congratulations to #USAF Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Cadet Maj. Sydney Cloutier from Pensacola High Schoo… https://t.co/baRvgYsuPC
Grand Forks AFB soon to be known as America's Global Hawk Base once the @319ABW is re-designated as the 319th Recon… https://t.co/EBRkBhkE0f
RT @DeptofDefense: Happy #ArmedForcesDay! We thank our men and women in uniform who protect our freedoms each and every day. #KnowYourMil h…
RT @ConorDaly22: Have to give a big thank you to @usairforce TSgt Amanda Reynolds for drawing us spot number 1 to qualify! Just under 2 hou…
Today, Lt. Gen. Arnold Bunch met w/@GovHolcomb & the #AdjutantGeneral of @INGuardsman at the @IMS as part of our ne… https://t.co/r8amzUd8Ko
#DYK: The #USAF's real #CaptainMarvel trained @brielarson for her role as Capt. Marvel. Learn more about Brig Gener… https://t.co/hZNbSzuvNS
Calling all Hoosiers! We're coming to #Indianapolis May 18-20 as part of our new community outreach program -… https://t.co/ywj6LXACAW
.@SecAFOfficial was interviewed by #JojoScienceShow at last week's @Andrews_JBA's #STEM event which featured more t… https://t.co/CwAjk4Foxq
RT @SecAFOfficial: The @USAirForce will now reimburse qualifying licensure & recertification fees incurred during PCS/PCAs up to $500 for s…
.@SJAFB spouse wins #AirForce level award for connecting the team Seymour volunteer to the community learn more:… https://t.co/TtWbSKNs87
#Airmen from across @HQUSAFEPA gather together with sister services and @NATO members to gain critical skills that… https://t.co/vk81NGuJLa
.@53rdWRS #HurricaneHunters and @NWSNHC teams participated in a Hurricane Awareness Tour, gaining safety knowledge… https://t.co/DDc4P7y71n
#DYK, the #AirForce has two deployable labs. These Rapid Assistance Support for Calibration units or RASCALS have b… https://t.co/DhKfKN8bDN
An #F15 Strike Eagle, assigned to the @48FighterWing, receives fuel from a 351st Air Refueling Squadron KC-135 Stra… https://t.co/hRpC1FFJm0
A KC-46 Pegasus assigned to the @22ARW performs a flyover during an Heritage to Horizons concert at the #AirForce M… https://t.co/Iecglwbxnb
.@AFResearchLab scientists and engineers recently visited universities throughout Israel to learn about their techn… https://t.co/Tzlc3XYd9s
.@ConorDaly22 won’t be the only one representing the #USAF in #Indianapolis this weekend! We're coming to… https://t.co/M6Ni3ClXTw
.@USArmy ground liaison officers assist intel #Airmen, ensuring globally networked sites work together to provide w… https://t.co/qKYKKZ0ptm