AF announces 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2016

  • Published
  • By Kat Bailey
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials have selected the service's top enlisted members, naming the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2016.

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year (by command of assignment when selected, alphabetically):

Tech. Sgt. Michael A. Asuncion, Jr., Air Force Space Command
Tech. Sgt. Sharry L. Barnshaw, Air Mobility Command
Senior Airman Raquel R. Caramanno, Air Force Materiel Command
Tech. Sgt. Cassandra L. Cruz, Air Education and Training Command
Senior Master Sgt. Mark E. Farmer, Air National Guard
Senior Airman Jasmin N. Figueroa, Pacific Air Forces
Senior Master Sgt. Jeremiah F. Grisham, Air Force District of Washington
Master Sgt. Marcus A. Mader, Air Force Special Operations Command
Senior Master Sgt. Rebecca F. McNelley, Air Force Global Strike Command
Senior Airman Derek F. Miles, U.S. Air Forces in Europe and Air Forces Africa
Staff Sgt. Aaron M. Tobler, Air Force Reserve Command
Staff Sgt. Jamie K. Zimmer, Air Combat Command

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year badge for one year from the date of formal presentation.

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to the myPers website. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following the instructions on the Air Force Retirees Services website.