Air Force official names environmental winners

  • Published
The Air Force civil engineer announced the winners of the Gen. Thomas D. White Environmental Awards for 2006.

Maj. Gen. Del Eulberg named nine installations and one individual as winners of this year's awards.

The 2006 winners are:

-- Environmental Quality Award (industrial): Tinker Air Force Base, Okla.

-- Environmental Quality Award (reserve component including Air National Guard): Bangor International Airport

-- Environmental Quality Award (overseas): Misawa Air Base, Japan

-- Restoration Award (installation): Dover AFB, Del.

-- Pollution Prevention Award (non-industrial): Luke AFB, Ariz.

-- Natural Resources Conservation Award (large base): Arnold AFB, Tenn.

-- Cultural Resources Management Awards (installation): Eglin AFB, Fla.

-- Pollution Prevention Award (individual/team): Tinker AFB

-- National Environmental Policy Act (team): Seymour-Johnson AFB, N.C.

-- Cultural Resources Management Award (individual/team): Mr. Gary M. O'Donnell, Hickam AFB, Hawaii

A ceremony and reception to honor the Air Force winners will take place at the Pentagon on April 19.

The winners are eligible for the Secretary of Defense environmental awards and will go forward as the Air Force nominees. The Air Force captured three of nine Secretary of Defense environmental awards in 2005.

Comment on this story (comments may be published on Air Force Link)

Click here to view the comments/letters page