2016 AFA aerospace award winners named

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Alexx Pons
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
The Air Force Association awards committee recently announced their selections for the 2016 National Aerospace and Specialty Award winners.

The specific categories and respective winners are:

David C. Schilling Award – presented for the most outstanding contribution to national defense made in the field of manned flight.

- 336th Fighter Squadron, Seymour Johnson Air Force Base, North Carolina

Theodore Von Karman Award – presented for the most outstanding performance in the field of science and engineering.

- Air Force Tactical Exploitation of National Capabilities, Schriever AFB, Colorado

Citation of Honor – presented for most outstanding contribution by an individual or organization to the development of aerospace power for the betterment of mankind.

- 19th Space Operations Squadron, Schriever AFB
- 24th Expeditionary Field Investigations Squadron, Al Udeid, Qatar
- Maj. Michael C. Pochet, Air Force District of Washington, Fort Belvoir, Virginia

AFA is the sponsor for these awards and will present them to the final winners during their Air and Space Conference and Technology Exposition 2016 in mid-September.

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to the myPers website. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions on the Air Force Retirees Services website.