HomeAbout UsBiographiesDisplay



Dr. Donald R. Erbschloe, a Senior Level Executive, is Chief Scientist, Air Mobility Command, Scott Air Force Base, Illinois. He serves as the AMC commander's scientific adviser, providing authoritative scientific counsel, technical advice and guidance throughout the command on AMC core area technical programs. This is done in coordination with AMC directors, 18th Air Force senior leadership, the Air Staff, the Air Force Research Laboratory and sponsoring agencies such as Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, NASA, the FAA, and Departments of Energy and Homeland Security. The Chief Scientist also advises on the status of scientific and technical quality of AMC, Air Force and Department of Defense programs and solutions to AMC mission area needs; engages subject area experts; and conducts efforts leading to technological enhancement of AMC capabilities. 

Dr. Erbschloe's military career was balanced among three primary thrusts: operations, academia, and scientific and technical management. He was a command pilot with 3,900 flying hours in the TG-7A motorized glider, UV-18 and C-141, flying in support of numerous combat operations including Desert Shield and Desert Storm. He served three tours on the faculty at the U.S. Air Force Academy and was the Chief Scientist at the European Office of Aerospace Research and Development, a London-based detachment of the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. He also served as military assistant to the Air Force Chief Scientist as well as Commander and Deputy Director of the Air Force Office of Scientific Research where he was responsible for management of all basic research in the Air Force. Most recently, Dr. Erbschloe was the Deputy and acting Chief Operating Officer of the Department of Energy's Office of Science, a 1,000-person organization with an annual budget of $4.1 billion with oversight of 10 national laboratories. The Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. 

Dr. Erbschloe is a frequent participant in studies and reports on scientific and technological issues. He is the author of several articles across a broad range of subjects including operations, scientific history, optics and pedagogy. He is a member of the Acquisition Corps. 

1976 Bachelor of Arts degree in Physics and Mathematics, with distinction, University of Virginia 
1983 Distinguished graduate, Master of Science degree in physics, Air Force Institute of Technology, University of New Mexico 
1983 Squadron Officer School, by correspondence 
1985 Air Command and Staff College, by correspondence 
1988 Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Electronics, University of Oxford, England 
1993 Air War College, by seminar 
2002 Senior Executive Fellow, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass. 
2003 Safety Investigation Board President's Course, Kirtland AFB, N.M. 
2004 Science, Technology and Public Policy Course, Office of Personnel Management, Washington, D.C. 

1. 1977 - 1978, student, undergraduate pilot training, Reese AFB, Texas 
2. 1978 - 1982, C-141 instructor pilot, 8th Military Airlift Squadron, McChord AFB, Wash. 
3. 1982 - 1983, graduate student, Air Force Institute of Technology, University of New Mexico 
4. 1984 - 1985, physics instructor, U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo. 
5. 1985 - 1988, doctoral student, University of Oxford, England 
6. 1988 - 1991, chief pilot; Chief, Operations Center; and C-141 instructor pilot, 86th Military Airlift Squadron, Travis AFB, Calif. 
7. 1991 - 1993, Associate Professor of Physics, U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo. 
8. 1993 - 1996, Chief Scientist, European Office of Aerospace Research and Development, London, England 
9. 1996 - 1998, Director of Faculty Research, U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo. 
10. 1998 - 2001, military assistant to the Chief Scientist of the Air Force, Washington, D.C. 
11. 2001 - 2002, Director, Policy and Integration, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Arlington, Va. 
12. 2003 - 2004, Commander and Deputy Director, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Arlington, Va. 
13. 2005 - 2006, Deputy and Chief Operating Officer, Office of Science, Department of Energy, Washington, D.C. 
14. 2006 - present, Chief Scientist, Air Mobility Command, Scott AFB, Ill. 

Harold Brown Award
DOE Federal Energy and Water Management Team Award
Federal Laboratory Consortium Interagency Partnership Award
Legion of Merit with oak leaf cluster
Meritorious Service Medal with silver oak leaf cluster 
Air Force Commendation Medal 
Combat Readiness Medal with oak leaf cluster 
Southwest Asia Service Medal with two bronze stars 
Silver Cross of Honor (Germany) 
Kuwait Liberation Medal (government of Kuwait) 

Air Force Association 
Airlift/Tanker Association 
American Association for the Advancement of Science 
American Association of Physics Teachers 
American Physical Society
Phi Kappa Phi 
Society of Oxford Engineers

(Current as of September 2015)


Facebook Twitter
#TBT: The 146th Air Support Operations Squadron spent a week w/their British and Estonian counterparts working a va… https://t.co/d8ClxzmFq2
#TBT: The 146th Air Support Operations Squadron spent a week w/their British and Estonian counterparts working a va… https://t.co/AoV8IAwvih
Enlisted leaders from around the world converge in #Jordan for the 4th annual Sergeants Major Symposium.… https://t.co/XMwVjiAAQp
RT @AirmanMagazine: Help us select the "Airman Top Shot" of the week by liking, commenting and sharing your favorite @usairforce photo. The…
Listen in as the first #Airman to refuel a KC-46A Pegasus from a KC-135 Stratotanker recounts his experience! @22ARW https://t.co/qAWLiQsHdo
RT @DOD_Outreach: .@NASCAR driver @BubbaWallace is used to acceleration, but got to experience 9 G’s during a @USAirForce F-15 flight at @S
RT @USAFCENT: @iqAirForce #F16 Fighting Falcon #aircraft flies a mission above the Iraqi-Syrian border alongside Co… https://t.co/1gZfXiMi2O
#VandenbergAFB aids during exercise Patriot Hook 2019, trains for real-world scenarios in the event of a regional e… https://t.co/IqnN00cJv1
.@SecAFOfficial underscores space strategy and partnerships with allies. https://t.co/X391mBc6E6 https://t.co/CFk69M8WW4
RT @SecAFOfficial: Thanks for inviting me to be part of @Policy_Exchange’s launch of the space policy unit #PXSpace! Great dialogue on #spa
#USAF's new rules on the #OCP uniform aims to better fit our #Airmen's needs as they perform the mission, while hol… https://t.co/cd6hd13Y21
As we continue the #MonthoftheMilitaryChild, check out how @341MissileWing youth build resiliency through gymnastic… https://t.co/kphokVfZTq
Things are heating up at #MountainHomeAFB! Watch as #Airmen @366FW fire department conduct #LiveFireTraining to ens… https://t.co/WRqHdMKdQs
RT @AusAirForce: Friends in high places... literally! Glad to continue the strong cooperation & mateship with @usairforce 🇦🇺🇺🇸 #AusAirForce
#Congrats to the #USAF 2019 Secretary of Defense Environmental Award winners! https://t.co/5j07VznEsc
RT @DeptofDefense: For 41 years, the Global Positioning System has helped us find our way in the world. It’s a system that our modern way o…
#DYK: In 2015 the worldwide C-17 fleet reached 3 million flying hours. The equivalent of flying around the #Earth 5… https://t.co/U01R6Y1gPe
#USAF and @Nationals partner up to teach 40 new commanders and their spouses leadership techniques.… https://t.co/doApMhiIWX
#Airmen & #Soldiers in #Kuwait teamed up to train military working dog handlers on decontamination of their K9s in… https://t.co/QtlvQGUgyF
.@179AW #Airmen know the hardest part isn't the jump, it's the preparation for the heavy drop beforehand. https://t.co/WMV2fBXN2x