Mr. William Baldygo, a member of the scientific and technical cadre of senior executives, is the Air Force Senior Scientist for Radio Frequency Sensing Technology. He specializes in the radio frequency sensing technology needed to provide superior U.S. weapon system capabilities to the combat Air Force. Mr. Baldygo initiates, plans, coordinates, evaluates and conducts research and development to advance the knowledge of radio frequency sensing technology for intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance and strike systems, as well as other applications.

Mr. Baldygo entered federal service in 1990, and he is a career-long employee of the Air Force Research Laboratory where he has served in a number of positions influencing radio frequency sensor technology including basic and applied research, systems engineering, program planning and management, as well as branch- and division-level management assignments.

Throughout his career, he has served as principal investigator, team lead for numerous in-house activities and multi-division programs, thrust lead, mentor, chief engineer, program manager and technical consultant to AFRL, Air Force and national and international efforts. His leadership contributions to the development, demonstration and transition of knowledge-aided radar signal processing led to his elevation to fellow in the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and was subsequently recognized with the IEEE AES Pioneer Award. In addition to the IEEE, he is a member of the Association of Old Crows and U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation.

1990 Bachelor of Science Degree, Electrical Engineering, Clarkson University, Potsdam, N.Y.
1996 Master of Science Degree, Electrical Engineering, Syracuse University, Syracuse, N.Y.
2005 Master of Arts Degree, Public Administration, Syracuse University, Syracuse, N.Y.
2008 Air War College, Air University, Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala., by correspondence
Certified Acquisition Professional, Level III, Engineering; Science & Technology Management
Certified Acquisition Professional, Level I, Program Management; Test and Evaluation

1. 1990 – 1999, Research Engineer, Radar Signal Processing Branch, AFRL/SNRT (formerly known as Rome Laboratory and Rome Air Development Center), Rome, N.Y.
2. 1999 – 2005, Technical Advisor, Radar Signal Processing Branch, AFRL/SNRT, Rome, N.Y.
3. August – December 2004, Student, Air Force-sponsored long-term full-time study, Senior Research Electronics Engineer, Syracuse University, Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs, Syracuse, N.Y.
4. 2005 – 2006, Chief, Radar Signal Processing Branch, AFRL/SNRT, Rome, N.Y.
5. 2009 – 2010, Acting Chief, Surveillance Radar Technology Branch, AFRL/RYRD, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio
6. 2006 – 2010, Chief, Radar Signal Processing Branch, AFRL/RYRT, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
7. 2010 – 2013, Program Chief Engineer/Technical Lead, Systems Technology Office (DR-0855-IV), AFRL/RYS (now AFRL/STO), Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
8. 2013 – 2015, Deputy Director of Engineering and Technical Management, AFRL/EN, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
9. 2015 – 2017, Global Integrated ISR Deputy Capability Lead, AFRL/RY, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
10. 2017 – 2018, Chief, Multi-Domain Sensing Autonomy Division, AFRL/RYA, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
11. 2018 – present, Senior Scientist, Radio Frequency Sensing Technology, AFRL/RY, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

1996 U.S. Patent No. 5,499,030, “An Expert System Constant False Alarm Rate Processor”
1998 IEEE Region 1 Engineering Management Award for “Outstanding Engineering Management and Technical Leadership Contributions to the U.S. Air Force Combat Identification Program in the Development and Transition of Technology for Wide-area Surveillance Radar Systems”
1998 Air Force Research Laboratory Sensors Directorate (AFRL/SN) Brian Hendrickson Memorial Award
2001 Mohawk Valley Accent on Excellence Award
2003 Air Force Research Laboratory Sensors Directorate (AFRL/RY) Brian Hendrickson Memorial Award.
2009 AFRL Sensors Directorate, 2008 Annual Supervisor Award
2009 Finalist, AFRL Supervisor of the Year
2009 Department of the Air Force Award for Civilian Meritorious Service.
2012 Technical Excellence Award – Program Management, AFRL Systems Technology Office (AFRL/RYS)
2016 Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 2016. Citation: “for leadership in developing, demonstrating, and productizing sensors signal processing technology for radar applications”
2016 IEEE AES Pioneer Award, for “Expert System CFAR: Algorithm Development, Experimental Demonstration, and Transition to Airborne Radar Systems”
2018 NATO Science & Technology Organization, SET Panel Excellence Award, for “excellent contributions to SET 128 Task Group on Impact of Wind turbines on Radar

Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers
Member, Association of Old Crows
Member, United States Geospatial Intelligence Foundation
Co-Chair, IEEE Dayton Section IEEE, AES Society Chapter (2011-2014)
Chair, IEEE Mohawk Valley Section (2000 and 2001)
Treasurer, IEEE Mohawk Valley Section (1999)
Secretary, IEEE Mohawk Valley Section (1998)
Paper Selection Committee/Technical Program Committee/Session Chair, IEEE Radar Conference (2007 – 2009, 2017, 2019)
Paper Selection Committee/Session Chair, MSS Annual Tri-Service Radar Symposium, (2000)

(Current as of January 2019)