Air Force names 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year

  • Published
  • By Gloria Kwizera
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials selected the service's top enlisted members, naming the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2012, Air Force Personnel Center officials announced.

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center considered 35 nominees who represented major commands; direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year (by command of assignment when selected):

Staff Sgt. Angelo C. Banks, Air Education and Training Command
Master Sgt. Alan M. Braden, Air Force Materiel Command
Staff Sgt. Cory T. Branham, Air Combat Command
Senior Airman Bryenna L. Brooks, Air Force Global Strike Command
Tech. Sgt. Brandon C. Bruner, Air Force Special Operations Command
Senior Airman Matthew J. Butler, Air Force District of Washington
Senior Master Sgt. Laura A. Callaway, Air Mobility Command
Senior Master Sgt. Emilio Hernandez, U.S. Air Forces in Europe
Senior Airman Nicholas A. Hurt, Air Force Space Command
Master Sgt. Sandra L. Plentzas, Air Force Reserve Command
Tech. Sgt. Matthew G. Stark, Pacific Air Forces
Senior Master Sgt. Luke W. Thompson, Air National Guard

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Badge for one year from the date of formal presentation.

The Air Force Association will honor the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year in September during its Air and Space Conference and Technology Exposition in Washington, D.C.

For more information on Air Force recognition programs, visit the myPers website at