2011 Team of the Year visits Washington

  • Published
  • By Master Sgt. J. C. Woodring
  • Office of the Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force
Air Force first sergeants were recognized recently during events honoring them as the Air Force and Air Force Association 2011 Team of the Year.

Each year the chief master sergeant of the Air Force, along with the major command-level command chief master sergeants, selects a specific Air Force specialty to be recognized as the "Team of the Year." Five individuals are then selected to represent the specialty.

During the visit to Washington, the representatives started their events with a tour of D.C. and a social at Airey House, the official residence of the chief master sergeant of the Air Force. Then, they met with senior Air Force leaders at the Pentagon and were honored at a reception hosted by AFA. The honorees also met with their respective congressmen on Capitol Hill.

"First sergeants provide an important leadership role in our units and it's an honor to recognize them," said Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force James Roy. "They help enforce the standards of Integrity, Service and Excellence that makes us the finest Air Force in the world."

The following Airmen represented the 2,500-Airman strong, first sergeant special-duty team:

-- Chief Master Sgt. David Henry, of Air Force Reserve Command at Robins Air Force Base, Ga.

-- Senior Master Sgt. Melanie Noel, of the First Sergeant Academy at Gunter Annex, Ala.

-- Senior Master Sgt. Manny Pineiro, of the 3rd Air Force at Ramstein Air Base, Germany

-- Senior Master Sgt. Ernest Williams, of the 147th Combat Communications Squadron at San Diego Air National Guard Station, Calif.

-- Master Sgt. Todd Meaney, of the 790th Missile Security Forces Squadron at F.E. Warren AFB, Wyo.