2010 Air Force Association Air & Space Conference kicks off

  • Published
  • By Aletha Frost
  • Secretary of the Air Force Public Affairs
More than 1,000 attendees were on hand for the opening ceremonies of the 2010 Air Force Association Air & Space Conference and Technology Exposition on Sept. 13 at the National Harbor in Oxon Hill, Md.

During the ceremonies, Secretary of the Air Force Michael Donley, Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Norton Schwartz and Joseph Sutter, Air Force Association chairman of the board, presented numerous awards that recognized significant contributions to the service's joint and global missions.

In his opening remarks, General Schwartz thanked Airmen for their commitment to serve with the utmost integrity and professionalism

"As professionals, we are obligated to make thoughtful and enduring contributions to our profession, and leave it better for our successors who will continue to pursue our proud traditions," General Schwartz said.

Air Force senior leaders presented the following awards during the opening ceremonies:

-- SecAF Safety Award, Category I: Air Mobility Command, Scott Air Force Base, Ill.

-- SecAF Safety Award, Category II: U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo.

-- Joan Orr Spouse of the Year Award: Mara Wight, Spangdahlem Air Base, Germany.

-- Gill Robb Wilson Award: Col. John Andreas Olsen, Royal Norwegian Air Force.

-- Citation of Honor: 55th Electronic Combat Group, Davis-Monthan AFB, Ariz.

-- General Curtis E. Lemay Award: Crew of Bone 21, 37th Bomb Squadron, 28th Bomb Wing, Ellsworth AFB, S.D.

-- Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force Thomas N. Barnes Award: Staff Sgt. Damon T. Thurman, 56th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Luke AFB, Ariz.

-- Outstanding ANG Unit: 176th Operations Group, Kulis Air National Guard Base, Alaska.

-- Air Force Reserve Unit Award: 916th Air Refueling Wing, Seymour Johnson AFB, N.C.

The three-day conference and exposition features more than four-dozen expert panelists and Air Force senior leaders who will address topics of key interest in today's Air Force. The conference is open to all services' active duty, Reserve and Guard enlisted members and officers, as well as civilians, retirees, veterans and industry partners.

For a complete list of AFA award winners, visit www.afa.org/aboutus/nawards.asp.