Eight coaches selected for Warrior Games

  • Published
  • By Maj. Belinda Petersen
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials recently announced the names of eight Air Force members selected to coach the 2010 Air Force team for Department of Defense's inaugural Warrior Games in Colorado Springs, Colo., May 10 to 14.

"We received an overwhelming response from hundreds of people interested in coaching Warrior Games," said 1st Lt. Hannah McDaniels, Warrior Games action officer at the Air Force Services Agency.

"Even better is that many of them have experience working with either the Special Olympics or wounded, ill and injured individuals. With so many qualified coaches, the selection process was tough. But we are excited to have the best of the best join the team," Lieutenant McDaniels said.

Air Force coaches for the 2010 Warrior Games are:

Cami Stock, head coach, Colorado Springs, Colo.
Maj. Vanessa Warren, track and field, Schriever Air Force Base, Colo.
Maj. Scott Bullis, cycling, Peterson AFB, Colo.
1st Lt. Paul Parmenter, swimming, Ellsworth AFB, S.D.
Staff Sgt. Jonathan Murray, archery, Peterson AFB
Tech. Sgt. David Walker, shooting, MacDill AFB, Fla.
Tech. Sgt. Richard Williams, volleyball, Luke AFB, Ariz.
Donald Birkbeck, basketball, Luke AFB

In addition to individual and team events, there will be an Ultimate Warrior competition in a pentathlon format and service team scoring for a rotating Chairman's Cup.

"The goal of the Warrior Games is to inspire recovery and capitalize on physical fitness through adaptive sports," said Charles Milam, director of services at the Pentagon.