HomeNewsArticle Display

2016 Nuclear Deterrence Operations, Nuclear & Missile Operations awards winners announced

WASHINGTON (AFNS) -- Air Force officials recently named the winners of the 2016 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award and the Nuclear & Missile Operations Award.

The Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of Airmen contributing to nuclear deterrence operations.

The Nuclear & Missile Operations Award honors officers who made the most significant contribution to the nuclear and missile operations career field.

“Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Awards and the Nuclear & Missile Operations Awards. We have Airmen doing a phenomenal job each and every day delivering our nation a robust, reliable, flexible and survivable nuclear deterrent. Our winners are distinguished even among that group. Their outstanding performance strengthened the nation’s nuclear deterrent and exemplify the professionalism we value in our Airmen," said Lt. Gen. Jack Weinstein, the Deputy Chief of Staff, Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration, Headquarters Air Force.

These outstanding nuclear professionals were selected from a diverse field within the Air Force’s major commands, unified combatant commands and other agencies including the Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard.

Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award winners are:

- Airman of the Year: Staff Sgt. Stephen T. Biggs, 703rd Munitions Support Squadron, Volkel Air Base, Netherlands
- Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Andrew W. Weissbach, 2nd Bomb Wing, Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana
- Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Jonathan M. Kennedy, Ramstein AB, Germany
- Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Charles J. Howell, 707th Communications Squadron, National Security Agency, Fort George G. Meade, Maryland
- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Patrick A. Yanez, 509th Operations Support Squadron, Whiteman AFB, Missouri
- Category I Civilian of the Year: Ms. Mykenzie Hamblin, Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center, Hill AFB, Utah
- Category II Civilian of the Year: Mr. Michael J. Schmidt, 741st Maintenance Squadron, Malmstrom AFB, Montana
- Category III Civilian of the Year: Mr. Richard C. Cross, Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center, Hill AFB, Utah
- Professional Team: Personnel Reliability Program Administrative Qualification Cell (Mr. Michael Morris, Lt. Col. Patrick Matak, Maj. Jacqueline Lucas, Maj. Charlene Kirby, Capt. Melanie Johnson, Senior Master Sgt. JoAnn Wise, Master Sgt. Jennifer Fontenot, Master Sgt. Nyel Aquino, Master Sgt. Julio Serrano, Tech. Sgt. Ashley Correa, Staff Sgt. Bryce Bellemore, Staff Sgt. Kristy Davis, Staff Sgt. Elise Orozco, Staff Sgt. Carlos Rodriguez, Mr. Brant Nickell, Ms. Rene McQueen, Ms. Karen Nzerem, Mr. Jeff West, Ms. Desiree Melcher, Ms. Bonnie Cunning)

Nuclear & Missile Operations Award winners are:

- Operator: 1st Lt. Cole J. Evans, 740th Missile Squadron, Minot AFB, North Dakota
- CGO: 1st Lt. Jeffery S. Dobrow, 12th Missile Squadron, Malmstrom AFB, Montana
- FGO: Maj. Joseph Shannon III, 90th Operations Support Squadron, Francis E. Warren AFB, Wyoming
The Nuclear Operations Awards Program is administered and overseen by Deputy Chief of Staff, Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration, Headquarters Air Force in accordance with AFI 36-2870, Nuclear Operations Awards Program.


Facebook Twitter
RT @AETCommand: BIG change to the @usairforce's special warfare recruiting & initial training pipeline aimed at ensuring enlisted recruits…
This HGU-55/P helmet is fitted with a Hybrid Optical-based Inertial Tracker and day visor at Moody Air Force Base,… https://t.co/rMzsO03MLL
BRRRRRRTT The @A10DemoTeam travels the world showcasing the unique capabilities of the Thunderbolt II. The… https://t.co/giQWIwD0rA
Congratulations to @388fw and @419fw for reaching "full warfighting capability" with the F-35A Lightning II ✈️… https://t.co/5BwOupKSU7
Easy like Sunday morning. https://t.co/7Yp9fKDHnn
Congratulations to Air Force Civil Engineer Tim Sullivan, who was named the 2020 Federal Engineer of the Year! 🎉… https://t.co/tIafy8KqKs
Did you know anxiety and depression are invisible wound conditions that can affect our Airmen? They can manifest in… https://t.co/7TJn1CICbh
Airmen practice joint close air support during exercise Cope North 20 to improve combat readiness, develop integrat… https://t.co/GLpsJAlvCx
RT @inspire_af_: The @usairforce understands the importance of innovation, and @AETCommand is continuing to move towards student-centered l…
RT @AirmanMagazine: These @usairforce U-2 pilots fly at 70,000 ft, where they provide vital reconnaissance for U.S. combatant commanders.…
Spouses, family members, & caregivers are a vital part of the #AirForce family. They take care of us & we must take… https://t.co/ayzETFm5M1
The Air Force Gunsmith Shop recently released a redesigned M4 Carbine that will fit in most ejection seats. This Ai… https://t.co/f4UPJLlPxp
RT @AETCommand: Innovating in your everyday environment doesn't always lend itself to creativity! Check out the Spark Cell space at Altus…
.@USAFCENT Airmen refuel a KC-135 with a Force system in Southwest Asia. This new capability provides more efficien… https://t.co/fA2OARRUqj
RT @ArmedwScience: Civil engineering is a key part of a deployed environment. Listen as this airman explains the civil engineering capabili…
WATCH: @SecAFOfficial joins @SecArmy and @SECNAV for a discussion with @CSIS on the state of the services, defense… https://t.co/Vfk09EMBdP
Congratulations Capt Lockridge. #AimHigh https://t.co/fcJQi1vsFO
.@ABCSharkTank, anyone? The Air Force Spark Tank announced its 2020 selectees. 6 Airmen were selected to present… https://t.co/5aoPxZ2OTF
Capt Jessica Knizel was the first of 10 Air Force Aerospace Nurse Practitioners. To meet the qualifications, Kniz… https://t.co/hu2WXp8i8z