Ellsworth to accept membership into EPA Track Performance Program

  • Published
During a ceremony Oct. 31, Ellsworth Air Force Base will become the first Air Force installation to accept membership into the Environmental Protection Agency's Performance Track Program. 

Performance Track is a voluntary partnership program that recognizes and rewards facilities that consistently exceed regulatory requirements, work closely with their communities, and excel in protecting the environment and public. To qualify, facilities must have adopted and implemented an Environmental Management System, demonstrate specific past environmental achievements; record sustained compliance with environmental requirements; commit to continued environmental improvement; and commit to public outreach and performance reporting. 

Ellsworth was selected for membership because base environmental programs succeeded in integrating substantial energy, material use, and emissions reduction goals into daily operations. Wing personnel have established an exemplary reputation for exceeding regulatory compliance. 

Ellsworth is the fifth South Dakota facility to join Performance Track program, which currently includes more than 400 members nationwide. 

As a member, the base must set four reduction goals for material use, emissions or waste generation, complete an independent audit of their Environmental Management System, and publish annual performance reports indicating progress toward the reduction goals. 

Program benefits include opportunities for crosstalk and mentoring, and regulatory incentives as adopted by and negotiated with the regulatory authority. 

The commander of the 28th Bomb Wing, Colonel Jeffry F. Smith is scheduled to accept the membership from Mr. Robbert E. Roberts, Administrator of Region 8 of the United States Environmental Protection Agency. Colonel Drew Wright, the deputy director of installations and mission support at Headquarters Air Combat Command (ACC), Langley Air Force Base, Virginia, and Steve Pirner, head of the South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources, will be among other distinguished guests scheduled to attend.