Air Force names 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year

  • Published
Air Force officials have selected the service's top enlisted members, naming the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2006.

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center here considered 33 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and air staff agencies. The board convened in May and selected the 12 based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

The nominees are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year ribbon, while the 12 winners will wear the bronze service star device on the ribbon. The winners will also wear the Outstanding Airman Badge for one year from the date of formal presentation.

The winners are:

Senior Master Sgt. Michael Lemke, F.E. Warren Air Force Base, Wyo.
Senior Master Sgt. Henry Parker III, Lajes Air Base, Azores
Master Sgt. Renee Williams, Robins AFB, Ga.
Tech. Sgt. Bradley Reilly, Hurlburt Field, Fla.
Tech. Sgt. Billy Tramel Jr., Hill AFB, Utah

Staff Sgt. Timothy Bishop, Andrews AFB, Md.
Staff Sgt. Daniel Dierickx, Klamath Falls, Ore.
Staff Sgt. Jeffrey Hansen, Holloman AFB, N.M.
Staff Sgt. David Plachno, Andrews AFB

Senior Airman Polly-Jan Bobseine, Moody AFB, Ga.
Senior Airman Eric Pena, Travis AFB, Calif.

Senior Airman Elizabeth Sewell, Vance AFB, Okla. 

The 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year will be honored during the Air Force Association Air and Space Conference and Technology Exposition in Washington, D.C., in September. They will also serve as members of the AFA's enlisted advisory council for the next year.