HomeNewsArticle Display

Officials announce Air Force safety awards

WASHINGTON (AFPN) -- Air Force safety officials announced the winners of the 2004 safety awards.

They are:

-- Secretary of the Air Force Safety Award: Category I, U.S. Air Forces in Europe at Ramstein Air Base, Germany; Category II, Air Force Academy, Colo.

-- Maj. Gen. Benjamin D. Foulois Memorial Award: Air Combat Command at Langley Air Force Base, Va.

-- Col. Will L. Tubbs Memorial Award for Ground Safety: Category I, Air Education and Training Command at Randolph AFB, Texas; Category II, Air Force Academy.

-- The Koren Kolligian Jr. Trophy: Capt. Steven Edwards of the 20th Special Operations Squadron at Hurlburt Field, Fla.

-- Colombian Trophy: 27th Fighter Wing at Cannon AFB, N.M.

-- System of Cooperation Among the Air Forces of the Americas Flight Safety Award: 317th Airlift Group at Dyess AFB, Texas.

-- Chief of Staff Individual Safety Award: Lt. Col. Robert Monroe of the 16th SOS at Hurlburt.

-- Safety Career Professional of the Year Award: Karen Rogow of the 366th Fighter Wing at Mountain Home AFB, Idaho.

-- Air Force Nuclear Surety Outstanding Achievement Award: Tech. Sgt. George Vara Jr., of the 435th Air Base Wing at Ramstein.

-- Air Force Explosive Safety Outstanding Achievement Award: Tech. Sgt. Richard Rexin of the 51st Fighter Wing at Osan Air Base, South Korea.

-- Air Force Chief of Safety Outstanding Achievement Award for Ground Safety: Category I, 45th Space Wing at Patrick AFB, Fla.; Category II, 366th FW at Mountain Home; Category III, 33rd FW at Eglin AFB, Fla.; Category IV, 819th Red Horse Squadron at Malmstrom AFB, Mont.; Category V, 3rd Combat Communications Group at Tinker AFB, Okla.

-- Air Force Chief of Safety Special Achievement Award: 36th Air Expeditionary Wing at Andersen AFB, Guam.

-- Air Force Chief of Safety Aircrew of Distinction Award: Maj. Gregory Hohn, Capt. David Sloat, Master Sgts. Norman Callahan and Ricardo Dardon, Tech. Sgts. Jason Nipar and Chad Phillips, Senior Airman Ryan Oliphint and Airman 1st Class Jamie Fredrickson of the 4th SOS at Hurlburt.

-- Air Force Chief of Safety Medical Achievement Award: Aeromedical services flight of the 16th Medical Operations Squadron at Hurlburt.

-- Air Force Space Safety Outstanding Achievement Award: Maj. Robert Shindel Jr., of the 50th Space Wing at Schriever AFB, Colo.

-- Air Force Chief of Safety Space Crew of Distinction Award: Bravo crew of the 1st Space Operations Squadron at Schriever.

-- Air Force Directed Energy Weapons Safety Outstanding Achievement Award: Airborne laser operations engineering laser safety team of the 452nd Flight Test Squadron at Edwards AFB, Calif.


Facebook Twitter
RT @USAFCENT: SHARED COMMITMENT | The Commander of the Qatar Emiri Air Force, Staff MG Pilot Salem Bin Hamad Al-Nabet, met with Lt. Gen. Gu…
RT @HQ_AFMC: Our teams at the @AFResearchLab are forever #innovating ... even in the ways they approach problem solving! #creativity #Airme
RT @GenDaveGoldfein: Let there be no mistake about our continued commitment to the region. I look forward to continuing the important dialo…
RT @DeptofDefense: A @usairforce airman w/the 909th Air Refueling Squadron, performs refuel training w/ROK Air Force F-16D Falcon during a…
RT @AFGlobalStrike: When you spend 24 hour alerts in the silo, it becomes a second home… Learn about how the 341st Force Support Squadron a…
.@GenDaveGoldfein engaged recruits this past #VeteransDay weekend, asking each why they chose to serve prior to con… https://t.co/vToX52rixv
RT @USAFCENT: DETERRENCE | Check out the view from a U.S. Air Force KC-135 as it refuels F-22 Raptors and U.S. Navy EA-18G Growlers over no…
RT @AFSpace: The Vandenberg Tracking Station is a remote station in Calif., operating w/in the Air Force Satellite Control Network. This st…
#Airmen at @CannonAFB_ rolled out a new smart toolkit to help improve productivity and overall efficiency for work… https://t.co/DFsNQqVDz8
@AFGlobalStrike We also want to give a shout out to all our missile maintenance Airmen!
As America’s top cover, ICBM operators have the Specialty Code of 13N, allowing #USAF to recognize these profession… https://t.co/G6aNX0FSLI
RT @USAFCENT: INTEROPERABILITY | A Royal Australian Air Force KC-30A Multi-Role Tanker Transport aircraft refuels a USAF F-22 Raptor, Nove…
DYK - Pitch Day events are continuing @AFLCMC Nov. 13-14 in Dayton, Ohio. #USAF's Life Cycle Management Center is r… https://t.co/LH5XmKuVff
You'll want to add this one to your playlist. https://t.co/aZXefMZocR
RT @HQ_AFMC: Today's the day....more than $12 million is set to be awarded at the inaugural @AFLCMCofficial Pitch Day in Dayton! Stay tune…
RT @PACAF: @109thAW Airmen prepare a #LC130 for take-off to Christchurch #NewZealand, Oct. 31. in support of the @NSF managed U.S. Antarcti…
RT @USAF_ACC: Awesome story on @usairforce Air Combat Command Captain supporting his daughter by cheering in sync with her at her football…
RT @cmsaf18: Leaders, listen up. Please speak with your teammates about their #financial readiness. Help them learn & lead them to the AFRC…
Interested in becoming a #pilot? Don't let height concerns stand in your way. Read on for stature requirements here: https://t.co/l1FoZt3nYL
RT @BullisSchool: Today in celebration of our veterans, we welcomed U.S. Air Force Col. D’Anne E. Spence and Master Navigator and Pentagon…