Group honors Air Force engineers

  • Published
Thirteen Air Force members will be honored for their achievements during the 17th Annual Black Engineer of the Year Awards Conference Feb. 13 to 15 in Baltimore.

The conference is sponsored by Career Communications Group, which was founded to promote significant minority achievement in engineering, science and technology. The awards are presented on behalf of the Council of Engineering Deans of the Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Lockheed Martin Corp., DaimlerChrysler Corp. and U.S. Black Engineer & Information Technology magazine.

Among the Air Force honorees is Gen. Lester L. Lyles, commander of Air Force Material Command at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, who will receive a lifetime achievement award.

"It's very meaningful to me that this comes from the deans of prestigious engineering schools, most of whom are not in any way associated with the Air Force," Lyles said. "This recognizes that hard work, perseverance and dedication always pay off, and validates what I tell others in mentoring or counseling sessions -- these are the ingredients to success in any endeavor."

Other award categories and Air Force winners include:

-- Special Recognition: Dr. Edmund H. Moore, program manager and materials research engineer, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB.

-- Outstanding Technical Contribution in Government: Lt. Col. Thomas T. Shields Jr., chief of information systems, Air Force Space Battlelab, Schriever AFB, Colo.

-- Most Promising Engineer in Government: Rodgerick L. Newhouse, Global Hawk intelligence/sensors project engineer, 452nd Flight Test Squadron, Edwards AFB, Calif.

Nine Air Force members were named as 2003 Modern-day Technology Leaders. They are:

-- Dr. Emmanuel Boakye, research scientist, AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB.

-- Joseph Gordon, chief of the planning branch, ARFL, Wright-Patterson AFB.

-- Roderic Perry, electronics engineer, AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB.

-- Lloyd Reshard, senior electronics engineer, AFRL, Eglin AFB, Fla.

-- Capt. Reginald Turner, director of the Laser Lethality, Survivability and Effects Test Facility, AFRL, Kirtland AFB, N.M.

-- Capt. Anthony Walker, flight test engineer, U.S. Air Force Test Pilot School, Edwards AFB.

-- Jerome Wilson, chief systems engineer, Aeronautical Systems Center, Wright-Patterson AFB.

-- 1st Lt. Dennis Woodfork II, ballistic missile trajectory engineer, U.S. Strategic Command, Offutt AFB, Neb.

-- Archie Woods, F-16 Fighting Falcon lead structural integrity engineer, ASC, Wright-Patterson AFB.