Fifth Air Force Marathon a success

  • Published
  • By Sue Baker
  • Aeronautical Systems Center Public Affairs
More than 3,200 runners from 48 states and eight foreign countries ran in the fifth Air Force Marathon here Sept. 21.

Wheelchair competitors began the 26.2-mile race at 7 a.m., followed by individual runners at 7:05 a.m., and relay teams at 7:30 a.m.

Patrick Doak of Alpharetta, Ga., was the first male wheelchair competitor to cross the finish line, with winning time of 1 hour, 59 minutes and 47 seconds. Christopher Rodney of Beavercreek, Ohio, finished in second place with time of 2 hours, 28 minutes and 20 seconds. Maynard Read of Rochester, Minn., came in third with 2 hours, 47 minutes and 20 seconds.

Holly Koester of Cleveland, Ohio, was first-place female wheelchair competitor with winning time of 3 hours, 1 minute, and 42 seconds. Stacy James of Dublin, Ohio, was second, with time of 5 hours, 4 minutes and 12 seconds. There was no third-place female wheelchair competitor.

Individual overall male winner was Jeffrey S. Gibson of Royal Air Force Mildenhall, England, with time of 2 hours, 42 minutes and 15 seconds. Second-place overall male winner was Guido Bocklandt of Dendermonde, Belgium, with time of 2 hours, 44 minutes and 30 seconds. Taking third place was Timothy L. Miller of Dayton, Ohio, with time of 2 hours, 47 minutes and 42 seconds.

The individual overall female winner was Sandy M. Hundley of Hilliard, Ohio, with a time of 3 hours, 16 minutes and 41 seconds. Second place went to Jill M. Metzger of Ramstein Air Base, Germany, with 3 hours, 17 minutes and 38 seconds. Finishing third was Marcie R. Knapp of New Castle, Pa., with 3 hours, 20 minutes and 49 seconds.

The first overall relay team to cross the finish line was the NG Seacows, with an elapsed time of 2 hours, 26 minutes and 17 seconds. The second-place relay team was Team Vance with a time of 2 hours, 28 minutes and 33 seconds. The third-place relay team was Miami Valley TC at 2 hours, 32 minutes and 14 seconds.

Each competitor crossing the finish line immediately received a commemorative medal. At the awards ceremony, Lt. Gen. Dick Reynolds, Aeronautical Systems Center commander, presented awards to the top finishers in all categories: overall male; overall female; open; military; masters; grand masters; seniors; wheelchair; marathon; and relay.

Final race results will be posted in the near future on the marathon Web site. The sixth Air Force Marathon is scheduled to take place Sept. 20, 2003.