Officials announce 2018 Outstanding Airmen of the Year winners

  • Published
  • By Richard Salomon
  • Air Force’s Personnel Center Public Affairs

JOINT BASE SAN ANTONIO-RANDOLPH, Texas -- Air Force officials announced the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year winners for 2018.

They are (listed alphabetically):

Senior Master Sgt. Melissa A. Beam, Air Combat Command

Staff Sgt. Elizabeth G. Caulfield, Air Force District of Washington

Staff Sgt. Wilson B. J. Gardner, Air National Guard

Senior Master Sgt. Ruth C. Griffin, Air Force Global Strike Command

Tech. Sgt. Brett M. Laswell, Air Force Special Operations Command

Master Sgt. Kit C. Lui, Air Force Reserve Command

Master Sgt. Joshua A. Matias, Air Education and Training Command

Tech. Sgt. David E. Miller, U.S. Air Forces in Europe

Senior Airman Patrick O. P. Schilling, Air Force Materiel Command

Tech. Sgt. April A. Spilde, Air Force Space Command

Senior Master Sgt. Lucero Stockett, Air Mobility Command

Senior Airman Jon R. Taitano, Pacific Air Forces

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected the final 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year badge for one year from the date of formal presentation. The remaining 24 nominees are also authorized to wear the OAYR.

Additional award information and responsibilities are available on myPers from a CAC-enabled, .mil computer. Select “Any” from the dropdown menu and search “12 OAY.”