HomeNewsArticle Display

Air Force announces 2018 Innkeeper Award winners

U.S. Air Force Col. Britt Hurst, 39th Air Base Wing commander, congratulates 39th FSS lodging team for winning the 2018 Air Force Innkeeper Award, Large Category for lodging operations at Incirlik Air Base, Turkey, July 18, 2018.

U.S. Air Force Col. Britt Hurst, 39th Air Base Wing commander, congratulates 39th FSS lodging team for winning the 2018 Air Force Innkeeper Award, Large Category for lodging operations at Incirlik Air Base, Turkey, July 18, 2018. The Incirlik lodging operations was evaluated on their customer service, financial status, housekeeping, management and related support activities. (U.S. Air Force photo by Staff Sgt. Rebeccah Woodrow)

JOINT BASE SAN ANTONIO-LACKLAND, Texas (AFNS) -- The Air Force recently announced the winners of the 2018 Innkeeper Awards for best lodging operations across the service.

The award, managed by the lodging division of the Air Force Services Activity, recognizes inns that provide the best hotel-type lodging and customer service to Air Force travelers.

This year’s winners are:
Large category: Incirlik Air Base, Turkey, U.S. Air Forces in Europe – Air Forces Africa
Small category: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, Air Mobility Command

“We are proud to recognize these teams for their dedication and direct impact to mission accomplishment. They ensure our Airmen are ready and able to perform their mission whenever and wherever they are called to duty,” said Col. Donna Turner, AFSVA commander.

The Air Force Innkeeper award program began in 1982. By 1984, the competition was divided into two categories: large, for inns with 286 rooms or more and small, for inns with 285 rooms or less.

Each major command nominates a lodging operation to represent their command and compete for this annual award. The top four with the highest standards in both categories receive an on-site evaluation by AFSVA lodging experts.

Winners are determined by customer service, housekeeping, financial status and management criteria.

In addition to the Innkeeper Award, the evaluation team selects one individual nominee from each of the installations to be considered for the Innkeeper Travelers’ Award.

Nominees for the award demonstrate the highest standards of professionalism, attitude, customer service and overall knowledge of the inn.

“We wouldn’t be able to accomplish our mission without the professionalism and dedication of the lodging staff,” said Tony Cambron, Air Force Lodging chief. “These teams ensure Airmen and their families experience exceptional service at our lodging facilities.”

This year’s individual nominees for the Innkeeper Travelers’ award are: Airmen 1st Class Alexa Moulton from Hurlburt Field, Florida; Nazan Ogru from Incirlik AB, Turkey; Neda Hilmo from Kadena AB, Japan; Reginald Sanders from MacDill AFB, Florida; Martha Hosterman from Dover AFB, Delaware; Staff Sergeant Gabriel Castillo from Luke AFB, Arizona; Tomohisa Taneichi from Misawa AB, Japan; and Michelle Jones from Patrick AFB, Florida.

The Innkeeper trophies will be presented and the winners of the travelers’ award announced in the fall at the 2018 Lodging Managers Leadership Training, Scott Air Force Base, Illinois.


Facebook Twitter
RT @AirNatlGuard: Training and repetition is key to being #AlwaysReady Exercises like #SouthernStrike2020 allow our Airmen to work with tot…
Over 100 aircraft are flying over the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands and the Federated States of Micr… https://t.co/XwsxbIXET9
RT @PACAF: Gen. CQ Brown Jr. met w/ allies & partners from across the Indo-Pacific & beyond @SGAirshow to showcase U.S. commitment & discus…
Good luck to all the drivers in today's #Daytona500, but we may be a bit biased on who we want to win it all.… https://t.co/PDLqBdl39X
Thanks for a great game @LAKings and @Avalanche. #ICYMI the @NHL Stadium series made a stop at the @AF_academy las… https://t.co/VyNsvpQM6o
RT @Creech_AFB: Singapore Airshow has been flying by (🥁-tss) meeting with international friends & partners! Repub. of Singapore Air Force…
Our own TSgt Nalani Quintello, vocalist with @USAFBand Max Impact, will perform the National Anthem prior to the 62… https://t.co/Asf5dTlXU8
RT @SecAFOfficial: Valuable hands-on experience @RAFMildenhall! Grateful to meet innovative #Airmen executing complex missions around the w…
RT @USAFCENT: COMBAT SEARCH AND RECOVERY | Recently USAF HH-60G Pave Hawk helicopters refueled over the Arabian Gulf from a U.S. Air Force…
RT @AETCommand: It takes a ton of people to ensure our aircraft get in the air so we can train @usairforce pilots to fly, fight & win! Che…
RT @GenDaveGoldfein: Humbled each day to serve in the same @usairforce Brig Gen Charles McGee paved the way for. He is a genuine #American
The @AFThunderbirds will be flying over ✈️ the #DAYTONA500 🏎️ this Sunday. https://t.co/iTN0qtu0e0
RT @USAFReserve: Beating Bad Weather: Command announces indoor alternative to physical fitness assessment - https://t.co/cP93Ijrbtw #Reserv
A U.S. Air Force AC-130J Ghostrider taxis on a flightline as a French Air Force C-130 lands at Alpena Combat Readin… https://t.co/hNTIhvJYvD
Don't miss the @NHL, @LAKings vs @Avalanche playing at the @AF_Academy this Saturday at 6 P.M. MST. Good luck to bo… https://t.co/KF9WqHlqaS
Happy Valentine's Day! https://t.co/ITdKRQ8Pm8
The first senior enlisted advisor for the U.S. Space Force has been named. Roger A. Towberman, welcome to the team! https://t.co/R8Fr98q4Jn
RT @AFGlobalStrike: Feb. has been a busy month for AFGSC, with a Bomber Task Force mission to the Indo-Pacific Theater & last week's unarme…
RT @AF_Academy: ❄️ Check out this timelapse of the @NHL transforming Falcon Stadium from football to an outdoor ice arena primed for Saturd…