HomeNewsArticle Display

2018 Nuclear Deterrence Operations and Nuclear & Missile Operations awards winners announced


Air Force officials recently named the winners of the 2018 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award and the Nuclear & Missile Operations Award.

These awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments of Airmen contributing to nuclear deterrence operations and the missile operations career field respectively.

“Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 Nuclear Deterrence Operations Awards and the Nuclear and Missile Operations Awards. These individuals have made a significant impact on the nuclear deterrent mission and exemplified the professionalism we value in our Airmen,” said Lt. Gen. Richard Clark, Strategic Deterrence & Nuclear Integration deputy chief of staff.

These outstanding nuclear professionals were selected from a diverse field within the Air Force’s major commands, unified combatant commands and other agencies including the Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard.

Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award winners are:

- Airman of the Year: Airman 1st Class Anthony K. Solvedt, 595th Strategic Communications Squadron, 595th Command & Control Group, Offutt Air Force Base, Nebraska
- Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Scott B. Stanton, 31st Munitions Squadron, 31st Fighter Wing, Aviano Air Base, Italy

- Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Master Sgt. Michael A. Rickman, 90th Security Forces Squadron, 90th Missile Wing, Francis E. Warren AFB, Wyoming

- Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Travis C. Miller, 741st Maintenance Squadron, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana

- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Clinton H. Chandler, 532nd Training Squadron, 381st Training Group, Vandenberg AFB, California

- Category I Civilian of the Year: Ms. Leslie A. Salloum, 740th Missile Squadron, 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota

- Category II Civilian of the Year: Mr. Matthew J. Bianco, 791st Maintenance Squadron, 91st Missile Wing, Minot AFB, North Dakota

- Category III Civilian of the Year: Dr. Joseph P. Morris, Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center, Kirtland AFB, New Mexico

- Professional Team: 701st Munitions Support Squadron/MXMM, Maintenance Flight (Capt. Scott A. Jensen, Capt. Kory T. Kluge, Master Sgt. Heath M. York, Master Sgt. Cleveland G. Coley, Master Sgt. Jason W. Buchanan, Tech. Sgt. Christopher C. Paolucci, Tech. Sgt. John M. Rasband, Tech. Sgt. Jess B. Roach, Staff Sgt. Maurice J. Alcampor, Staff Sgt. Nicole A. Almario, Staff Sgt. Michael P. Harris, Staff Sgt. Richard J. Bischel III, Staff Sgt. Elijah A. Miller, Staff Sgt. Oswaldo Orozco III, Staff Sgt. Carter E. Strader, Staff Sgt. Gregory J. Washington, Staff Sgt. Richard Flores, Staff Sgt. Colton J. Winkle, Staff Sgt. James W. Russell Jr., Staff Sgt. Matthias P. Houldieson, Senior Airman Cheyenne A. Bernier, Senior Airman Myles C. Taylor, Senior Airman Savannah M. Chiles, Airman 1st Class Tyler M. Kuykendall)

Nuclear & Missile Operations Award winners are:
- Operator of the Year: Capt. Jeremy L. Kittle, 341st Operations Support Squadron, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana
- Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Maurice E. LeFever, 10th Missile Squadron, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Montana
- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Kristine E. Poblete, Headquarters Air Force Global Strike Command, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana
Since 2014, the Nuclear Operations Awards Program has been administered and overseen by deputy chief of staff, Strategic Deterrence & Nuclear Integration.


Facebook Twitter
.@SecAFOfficial underscores space strategy and partnerships with allies. https://t.co/X391mBc6E6 https://t.co/CFk69M8WW4
RT @SecAFOfficial: Thanks for inviting me to be part of @Policy_Exchange’s launch of the space policy unit #PXSpace! Great dialogue on #spa
#USAF's new rules on the #OCP uniform aims to better fit our #Airmen's needs as they perform the mission, while hol… https://t.co/cd6hd13Y21
As we continue the #MonthoftheMilitaryChild, check out how @341MissileWing youth build resiliency through gymnastic… https://t.co/kphokVfZTq
Things are heating up at #MountainHomeAFB! Watch as #Airmen @366FW fire department conduct #LiveFireTraining to ens… https://t.co/WRqHdMKdQs
RT @AusAirForce: Friends in high places... literally! Glad to continue the strong cooperation & mateship with @usairforce 🇦🇺🇺🇸 #AusAirForce
#Congrats to the #USAF 2019 Secretary of Defense Environmental Award winners! https://t.co/5j07VznEsc
RT @DeptofDefense: For 41 years, the Global Positioning System has helped us find our way in the world. It’s a system that our modern way o…
#DYK: In 2015 the worldwide C-17 fleet reached 3 million flying hours. The equivalent of flying around the #Earth 5… https://t.co/U01R6Y1gPe
#USAF and @Nationals partner up to teach 40 new commanders and their spouses leadership techniques.… https://t.co/doApMhiIWX
#Airmen & #Soldiers in #Kuwait teamed up to train military working dog handlers on decontamination of their K9s in… https://t.co/QtlvQGUgyF
.@179AW #Airmen know the hardest part isn't the jump, it's the preparation for the heavy drop beforehand. https://t.co/WMV2fBXN2x
.@HQUSAFEPA #Airmen combined their capabilities to provide disaster relief to those affected by #CycloneIdai, deliv… https://t.co/kzkdQA8TOS
The results are in as #USAF announces findings from a year-long review on electronic warfare. Read on for more on t… https://t.co/wAEDCRjj5L
Congratulations to the Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award recipients! Named in honor of the first @AF_Academy graduate… https://t.co/fiOTVLfrpD
RT @SecAFOfficial: Our military must have the ability to see what is going on around the world, quickly and without interruption...and this…
#USAF #Airmen and firefighters from five #CentralAmerican countries develop bonds with team-building training durin… https://t.co/An5wJIt0B6
#Brrrt! Check out this video of our hawgs training in the Philippines. #Warthog #Pilsung https://t.co/cL8E1oE5Ob
RT @SecAFOfficial: Today, the family & friends of Lt. Col. Richard "Dick" Cole celebrated his legendary life. Dick and the rest of the Dool…
On the 77th anniversary of the #DoolitlleRaid, #USAF leaders, #Airmen, and the family and friends of Lt. Col. Richa… https://t.co/RE4wWGQe4t