Department of Energy seeks award nominations

  • Published
  • By Jennifer McCabe
  • Air Force Civil Engineering Center Public Affairs
Each year the U.S. Department of Energy sponsors the Federal Energy and Water Management Awards. These awards honor individuals and organizations making significant contributions to the efficient use of energy and water in the federal government. The Air Force looks to stay on top, having won 21 awards since 2010, more than any other Service.

Members are encouraged to enter initial summaries by March 13 on the Federal Energy Management Program central website. The Air Force Civil Engineer Center, Det. 1, here, will collect and evaluate the summaries. The Air Force can submit up to 15 nominations that highlight outstanding contributions in energy efficiency, water conservation and the use of advanced and renewable energy technologies at federal facilities.

The nominations cover vehicles, aviation and operational energy and are submitted in one of five categories: project, procurement, program, career exceptional service and the FEMP director's award.

· Project awards are for individuals or teams that are exemplary in their implementation of energy efficiency, water efficiency, renewable energy and vehicle fleet management projects.

· Procurement awards are for individuals or teams that implement and institutionalize effective management, policy and strategy for energy, water and vehicle fleet management.

· Program awards are for individuals or teams that implement and institutionalize effective management, policy and strategy for energy, water and fleet management.

· Career exceptional service awards recognize people who gave extraordinary service to their agencies in fiscal 2013 or during their career of 10 or more years.

· The FEMP Director's Award goes to a team or individual with exceptional achievements in energy, water and fleet management. This award is given at the discretion of the director.

The Air Force Facility Energy Center and the Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Energy will select the best initial summaries and notify major commands by March 24. Selected candidates will then develop complete nomination packages and submit them to the FEMP central website by April 11.

There have been important changes from last year. These will be discussed during a seminar to be held March 18. Register at

Air Force winners for 2013 include Kelly Jaramillo, U.S. Air Forces Europe; David Morin, Laughlin AFB, Texas; Air Combat Command, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.; 22nd Operations Group Fuel Efficiency Office, McConnell AFB, Kan.; and Seymour Johnson AFB, N.C. Their combined efforts helped the Air Force save more than $18.6 million in 2012.

"Energy is critical to the Air Force's ability to achieve our mission to fly, fight and win in air, space and cyberspace," said Dr. Kevin Geiss, the deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force for energy. "These men and women are a great example of what each Airman can do to help the Air Force maintain an assured energy advantage."