Two AF bases win 2014 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards

  • Published
The Department of Defense announced April 21, that two Air Force installations were among the winners of the 2014 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards.

The Natural Resources Team at Eglin Air Force Base, Fla., won the Natural Resources Conservation, Individual/Team award for offered long-range solutions that ensured regulatory compliance while maximizing the use of land and water ranges to maintain mission readiness.

The Air Force Life Cycle Management Center (AFLCMC) F-35 Lightning II Environmental, Safety and Occupational Health Support Team at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, won the Environmental Excellence in Weapon System Acquisition, Large Program Individual/Team award for their increased efficiencies in aircraft development, project prioritization, resource access, and other critical mission areas that contribute to their environmental and overall excellence in weapon system acquisition.

In naming the winners of the 2014 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards, Frank Kendall, the undersecretary of defense for acquisition, technology and logistics, stated, “Their remarkable achievements exemplify the department’s continued commitment to sustain mission readiness while cost-effectively addressing environmental issues, thereby increasing efficiencies and supporting the quality of life for service members, their families, and local communities.”

Over the past 10 years, DOD has invested approximately $42 billion to ensure the success of its environmental programs. In fiscal year 2012, DOD spent approximately $4.1 billion for its environmental programs -- $2.0 billion for environmental restoration activities; $1.9 billion for environmental quality activities; and $213.6 million for environmental technology.

These investments protect and sustain the environment while strengthening operational capacity, reducing operational costs, and enhancing the well-being of military members, civilians, and their families and communities. Each year, since 1962, the department has honored individuals, teams, and installations for their outstanding achievements in environmental performance.

For more information about the awards or to see the other award recipients, please visit:

(Information courtesy of