American Airmen video contest winner announced at AFA

  • Published
  • By By Master Sgt. Lesley Waters
  • Air Force Public Affairs Agency, Operating Location-P
The American Airmen Video Contest is over and the votes are in, the winner of the video contest is Air Mobility Command finalist Tech. Sgt. Brian Williams, 87th Security Forces Squadron at Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, New Jersey, his video received 1,814 votes.

Chief of Staff of the Air Force Gen. Mark A. Welsh III recognized Williams and showed the winning video during his speech at the Air Force Association Air and Space Conference and Technology Exposition, Sept. 16, in Washington, D.C.

“Our Airmen will surprise you with how inventive they can be when given the opportunity; I'm amazed by them every day and this contest was just another example,” Welsh said. “I really appreciate them taking the time to share their Air Force story.”

Second place went to Pacific Air Forces Command finalist Airman 1st Class Kyle Gott, with the 18th Equipment Maintenance Squadron at Kadena Air Base, Japan, with 1,754 votes and third place went to Air National Guard finalist Tech. Sgt. Cable Rose, with the 81st Training Wing at McGhee-Tyson Air National Guard Base, Tennessee, with 299 votes.

The contest launched July 1 for all total force Airmen to showcase their Air Force stories in short selfie videos. More than 56 eligible videos were submitted.

The videos were reviewed and each major command selected a winner within their command. The finalists' videos were available on AFBlueTube for public voting and the following were the finalists from their respective commands:

Air Force Global Strike Command - Senior Airman Michael Muck: 284 votes
U.S. Air Forces Europe and Air Forces Africa - Staff Sgt. Ashly Marra: 183 votes
Air Combat Command Fialist - Staff Sgt. Jose Diaz: 149 votes
Air Force Public Affairs Agency - Senior Airman Valerie Lloyd: 127 votes
Air Force Space Command - Staff Sgt. Aaron Burnley: 103 votes
Air Force Special Operations Command - Senior Airman Nolan Payne: 99 votes
Air Force Reserve Command - Staff Sgt. Wesley Wilkins: 99 votes
Air Forces Central Command - Tech. Sgt. Matthew Garrett: 89 votes
Air Force Material Command - Senior Airman Brett Walters: 73 votes
Air Education and Training Command - Senior Airman John Kaczmar: 57 votes
Air Force ISR Agency - Senior Airman Kevin Larkins: 54 votes

To view a compilation video of all the finalists, click here, and to view videos from all finalist, click here.