17th Training Wing wins DOD award for innovation in sexual assault prevention

  • Published
  • Secretary of the Air Force Public Affairs
The 17th Training Wing’s Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office at Goodfellow Air Force Base, Texas, won the Department of Defense Sexual Assault Prevention Innovation Award this month.

The DOD created the award in 2014 to encourage units to innovate and develop effective prevention programs and tactics.

“Our sexual assault response coordinators and victim advocates are the heartbeat of the SAPR program,” said Maj. Gen. James Johnson, the Air Force SAPR director. “The team at the 17th Training Wing is a great example of the type of innovative leadership that makes a huge impact across our Air Force. Preventing sexual assault is every Airman’s responsibility, and our SARCs and victim advocates play a valuable role in facilitating the education and discussions that allow us to take an honest look at ourselves and find areas for improvement.”

According to the award nomination, the five-member team worked across all branches of service to expand the teal rope program to Army and Marine tenant units, establishing peer-to-peer mentors in each branch of service who can provide information on reporting sexual assaults, and refer individuals to helping agencies, as well as serve as role models for core values. The team also built a series called Dating 101 to educate Airmen about building healthy relationships and foster honest discussions about the responsibilities of being a good wingman.

The 17th TRW team consists of two SARCs, Capt. Miranda Goeb and Donna Casey; one deputy SARC, 1st Lt. Morgan Diglia; and two victim advocates, Laurel Matus and Tonya Lee.