Planes over water


2011 Sijan awards

Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Norton Schwartz (left) gives his remarks before presenting the Lance P. Sijan USAF Leadership Award to the 2011 recipients during a ceremony in the Pentagon's Hall of Heroes on April 6, 2012, Washington, D.C. Maj. Laura DeJong and Capt Gilbert Wyche II (pictured, left to right) joined Senior Master Sgt. Timothy Sterner and Tech. Sgt. Nathanael Hoag as the newest honorees. The Sijan Award was created in 1981 to recognize individuals who demonstrate the highest qualities of leadership both in and out of uniform. Sijan, was an Air Force Academy graduate. At the time of his death he was an Air Force Captain and fighter pilot. He was shot down during a mission in Vietnam and later died while being held in a prisoner of war camp. He was awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor posthumously. (U.S. Air Force photo by Jim Varhegyi)

PHOTO BY: Jim Varhegyi
VIRIN: 120406-F-FC975-248.JPG
Additional Details

No camera details available.


Read More

This photograph is considered public domain and has been cleared for release. If you would like to republish please give the photographer appropriate credit. Further, any commercial or non-commercial use of this photograph or any other DoD image must be made in compliance with guidance found at, which pertains to intellectual property restrictions (e.g., copyright and trademark, including the use of official emblems, insignia, names and slogans), warnings regarding use of images of identifiable personnel, appearance of endorsement, and related matters.