HomeNewsArticle Display

2017 Air Force Chief of Safety and Safety Staff Awards announced

KIRTLAND AIR FORCE BASE, N.M. (AFNS) -- Maj. Gen. John T. Rauch Jr., Air Force chief of safety, recently announced the recipients of the Secretary of the Air Force, Chief of Staff, Chief of Safety and Safety Staff Awards for 2017.

"It's a privilege to recognize Airmen and units for their safety achievements in 2017," Rauch said. "It’s a combination of leadership involvement and the commitment of these individuals and organizations that make the Air Force Safety Program one of the best at keeping Airmen safe, protecting resources, and preserving combat capability while accomplishing the mission."

Air Force Safety Award winners are:

Secretary of the Air Force Safety Award:
U.S. Air Forces in Europe and Air Forces Africa

Major General Benjamin D. Foulois Memorial Award:
Air Mobility Command

Koren Kolligian Jr., Trophy:
Lt. Col. Daniel P. Finnegan, Vermont Air National Guard

Colonel Will L. Tubbs Memorial Award for Ground Safety:
U.S. Air Forces in Europe and Air Forces Africa

Air Force Chief of Safety Special Achievement Award:
48 Fighter Wing, RAF Lakenheath, England (USAFE)

Safety Career Professional of the Year Award:
Master Sgt. Victorio Gutierrez, 31 Fighter Wing, Aviano Air Base, Italy (USAFE)

Air Force Nuclear Surety Outstanding Achievement Award:
341 Operational Support Squadron, Malmstrom Air Force Base, Montana (Air Force Global Strike Command)

Air Force Chief of Safety Outstanding Achievement Award for Weapons Safety
Master Sgt. Charles B. Lester, 31 Fighter Wing, Aviano AB, Italy (USAFE)

Air Force Chief of Safety Outstanding Achievement Award for Ground Safety:
Category I - 00-ALC Safety Office, Hill AFB, Utah (Air Force Materiel Command)
Category II - 502 Air Base Wing Safety Office, Joint Base San Antonio, Texas (Air Education and Training Command)
Category III - 100 Air Refueling Wing Occupational Safety Office, RAF Mildenhall, England (USAFE)
Category IV - 62 Air Wing Occupational Safety Office, JB Lewis-McChord, Washington (AMC)
Category V - Legacy Tanker Division, Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma (AFMC)

Air Force Chief of Safety Aircrew of Distinction Award:
The Crew of Hawk 91, 28th Bomb Squadron, Dyess AFB, Texas (AFGSC)

Air Force Chief of Safety Aviation Maintenance Safety Award:
Staff Sgt. Thomas H. Tardif, 901 Special Operations Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Hurlburt Field, Florida (Air Force Special Operations Command)

Air Force Chief of Safety Cyber Safety Award:
Vulnerability Management Team, 502 Communications Squadron, JB San Antonio-Lackland, Texas (AETC)

Air Force Chief of Safety Space Safety Award:
Ms. Laura W. Sargent, 45 Space Wing, Patrick AFB, Florida (Air Force Space Command)

MAJCOM Safety Staff Aviation Award:
Mr. George Chappel, AETC/Flight Safety

MAJCOM Safety Staff Occupational Award:
Mr. David Etrheim, AETC/Occupational Safety

MAJCOM Safety Staff Space Award:
Ms. Jaqueline M. Kaiser, AFSPC/Space Safety

MAJCOM Safety Staff Weapons Award:
Master Sgt. Mark Kenyon, Pacific Air Forces/SWeapons Safety

Aero Club Safety Certificates:
Hanscom Aero Club (AFMC)
Robins Aero Club (AFMC)
Eglin Aero Club (AFMC)
Rocky Mountain Flight Training Center (AFSPC)
Dover Air Force Base Aero Club (AMC)
Yokota Air Base (PACAF)


Facebook Twitter
We're going #LIVE as #CMSAF Wright speaks at #ASC18. Watch on our Facebook page at 10:45 a.m. EDT:… https://t.co/LIc3O6CdiW
Our own @AstroHague will launch into #Space in less than a month! https://t.co/RaQsXp14NP
In order to support the NDS, the Air Force We Need will require a restructure of our expeditionary force structure.… https://t.co/O63bDWHAbC
RT @AF_Academy: The #CaptainMarvel trailer is finally here. Now, we're not saying we make superheroes but she's not wearing a @WestPoint_US
RT @GenDaveGoldfein: To ensure our 386 Operational Squadrons are trained, equipped and ready to fight, we will depend on the entire Air For…
RT @AFSpace: Honored to have @VP Pence & @SecAFOfficial visit the #AFSPC booth today on the #AFBday! They met some of our amazing AFSPC Air…
RT @Yankees: Tonight, we celebrated the @usairforce's 71st Birthday with: - Presentation of Colors by the U.S. Air Force Honor Guard from J…
RT @SecAFOfficial: Preparing for the future with the Air Force We Need. #ViciousHarmony #ASC18 https://t.co/detSNKBxaj
RT @AETCommand: HAPPENING NOW: A 12th Flying Training Wing T-6 Texan II crashed near Rolling Oaks Mall at approximately 4 p.m. today. The…
Mrs. Wright on how to be successful & maintain marriage & family: The secret is, communicate & manage expectations… https://t.co/3yXFKn4EQg
#CMSAF on how to be successful & maintain marriage & family: Communication is the key. Maybe reading the 5 Love Lan… https://t.co/4roQsFIPIv
.@CSAF21Spouse: I love the unique culture we have a as a #military, how the spouses take care of each other, & how… https://t.co/EP5MC6Koid
.@SecAFOfficial on how to be successful & maintain marriage & family: Humor is underrated in relationships. Being a… https://t.co/QscPEobbAQ
.@GenDaveGoldfein on how to be successful & maintain marriage & family: Be present when you’re off work and spendin… https://t.co/DZyG9l8nw9
.@GenDaveGoldfein on improving access to quality education for #milkids:Consider partnering w/them to allow student… https://t.co/nrwyzyl73Y
.@GenDaveGoldfein on improving access to quality education for #milkids: Commanders, think about your relationships… https://t.co/geZBKBfUeI
.@SecAFOfficial: One of the first things we did was this joint letter to Governors. There are two things we let the… https://t.co/taquHRqgGB