Air Force seeks Sijan award nominations

  • Published
  • By Richard Salomon
Air Force officials are accepting nominations for the 2018 Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award through Aug. 31.

The award recognizes the accomplishments of officers and enlisted Airmen who demonstrate the highest qualities of leadership in the performance of their duties and conduct of their lives.

Sijan was a 1965 Air Force Academy graduate and combat pilot who was posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor for his courage while evading capture by the North Vietnamese and during his subsequent captivity as Prisoner of War.

The award period is July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018. Organizations and base-level personnel should contact their respective major command, combatant command, field operating agency, direct reporting unit or MAJCOM/COCOM equivalent for applicable suspense dates and additional nomination procedures.


Each MAJCOM, COCOM, FOA and DRU may submit one individual in each of the following four categories:


- Senior officer (major through colonel)

- Junior officer (2nd lieutenant through captain)

- Senior enlisted (master sergeant through chief master sergeant)

- Junior enlisted (airman through technical sergeant) 

Specific eligibility and application procedures for the Sijan award are available on myPers. Select “Any” from the dropdown menu and search “Sijan.”
For more information about Air Force awards, visit