22nd annual USAF Marathon hosts international field

  • Published
  • By Myra Saxon
  • 88th ABW Public Affairs
This year marks the 22nd annual running of the U.S. Air Force Marathon. The warm and humid weather didn’t stop over 15,000 runners, walkers and spectators from all 50 states and more than 10 foreign countries from taking part at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Sept. 15.

This year's men's full marathon winner was Staff Sgt. Jacob McCubbin, noncommissioned officer in charge of Standards and Evaluations Branch, 68th Network Warfare Squadron, Lackland AFB, Texas, with a time of 2:35:57.

This year's women's full marathon winner was Sarah Bishop, of Dayton, Ohio, with a time of 3:02:25.

Lt. Gen. Robert McMurry, interim commander of Air Force Materiel Command, and commander, Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, gave opening remarks and reminded everyone the event is not just Wright-Patterson AFB’s, but includes the entire Air Force around the world.

“This is your Air Force team. Take care of each other and be steadfast in your support for one another here, around the world and in deployed locations,” McMurry said.

Col. Tom Sherman, 88th Air Base Wing and installation commander, shared his appreciation for all the work that over 2,400 volunteers contributed to make the event happen.

“This is my first year being able to see the marathon in action and I’m very proud of all the efforts from all the folks on base and throughout the Miami Valley community that help pull this together,” Sherman said. “It takes a lot of hard work over many, many months to make this a world-class event. To see it pulled off so seamlessly speaks volumes about our Airmen and the thousands of volunteers in the [Wright-Patterson AFB] community.”

Marathon weekend featured four different running events including the full marathon, half marathon, 10K and 5K races, as well as a wheeled division. The marathon was first held in 1997 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Air Force.

A two-day free sports and fitness expo took place at Wright State University's Nutter Center. More than 100 booths showcased products related to the latest developments in sports, fitness, nutrition and apparel. Experts shared fitness and pacing techniques and yoga instructor Jessica Carter led yoga sessions for runners.

Events leading up to the marathon included the Breakfast of Champions and the annual Gourmet Pasta Dinner at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force Sept. 15. The guest speaker at both events was American Olympian and author Jeff Galloway. He competed in the 1972 Olympics in Munich, Germany in the 10K event, and in 1973 set the U.S. 10-mile road race record. He began running 60 years ago and is the founder of the Run-Walk-Run training method that has helped open up running to millions of people.

Tailwind, the official Air Force Marathon mascot, joined parents, children and participants as they cheered on the runners at the start line.

New this year were military displays from the U.S. Marines and U.S. Army National Guard as well as a display of national, state and international flags leading out of Area A. Runners were welcomed by a wide variety of new food and drink choices at the finish line. 

“The 22nd Air Force Marathon has been a great event with tremendous buy-in from our community.” said Brandon Hough, U.S. Air Force Marathon director. “I’ve directed various races in the past which has prepared me for this great experience.” 

Everyone who completed the race received a medal celebrating their accomplishment with a custom relief of this year’s featured aircraft, the MQ-9 Reaper. A different custom-made medal was awarded to those who completed the inaugural Flight-Fight-Win! Challenge. Participants had to complete the 5K, 10K and half marathon.

Medals were presented at the finish line by senior Air Force leaders. All races began and ended at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force except the 5K, which took place on the Wright State University campus.

The Air Force Marathon course goes past numerous historical landmarks, including Huffman Prairie, where the Wright brothers perfected manned flight. The race is sanctioned by the USA Track and Field Association and is a qualifier for the Boston Marathon.

Winners are listed below. All times are unofficial at the time of this release:

-- Men's Full Marathon Overall, Individual: Staff Sgt. Jacob McCubbin, San Antonio - 2:35:57
-- Women's Full Marathon, Individual: Sarah Bishop, Dayton, Ohio - 3:02:25
-- Men's Full Marathon, Crank Wheelchair Division: David Berling, Avondale, Arizona - 1:09:50
-- Women's Full Marathon, Crank Wheelchair Division: Holly Koester, Bedford, Ohio – 2:09:11
-- Men’s Full Marathon, Push-Rim Wheelchair Division: David Satre, Oklahoma City – 3:00:20
-- Men's Half Marathon, Individual: Daniel Kirwa, Gibsonton, Florida - 1:12:22
-- Women's Half Marathon, Individual: Emily Shertzer, Jonestown, Pennsylvania - 1:23:37
-- Men's 10K, Individual: Andy Schweitzer, Bellbrook, Ohio - 34:16
-- Women's 10K, Individual: Maria Scavuzzo, Tipp City, Ohio - 34:56
-- Men's 5K, Individual: Pedro Ochoa, Homer, Alaska - 17:39
-- Women's 5K, Individual: Ann Alyanak, Bellbrook, Ohio - 18:28